Author Topic: The correct way to use walking poles  (Read 10277 times)

Callum

• Administrator
    • View Profile
The correct way to use walking poles
« on: April 01, 2014, 01:33:32 PM »
Recently I was struck by something - I don't know how to use my walking poles correctly.

Now don't get me wrong, I have been using them for years, especially on downhill descents. However, last week a group of youngsters, all from the same school, came kitted with walking poles and I became conscious that I have had no formal training in using poles, being self-taught, when the kids asked me the correct way to use them. Experience has taught me that when I am self-taught in a subject I invariably am missing something. Can somebody point me in the right direction where I can find comprehensive instructions to use them correctly?

Hobbo

• Man, likes camping, hiking and running.
    • View Profile
Re: The correct way to use walking poles
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2014, 02:58:37 PM »
I found this. The changing length for up/down hill makes good sense.
 <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7ShLirVcDU" target="_blank">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7ShLirVcDU</a>

In failing that, it's about choosing a length that's comfortable and knowing when to put them away (you may find it better to keep hands free for scrambling, etc).
I don't know it all and when I think I do, I tend to find karma is just around the corner...

captain paranoia

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2014, 06:08:43 PM »
Peter Clinch usually talks sense on OM, and he has a few pages on poles:

Pete's Pole Pages

Locus

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2014, 08:18:16 PM »
Good link, that. One of the closing comments in it rang true from my use of poles.

Don't be afraid to "mix and match" according to terrain, or just how you feel:

the point is to get weight and stress off your knees, not get hung up on poling techniques.

Callum

• Administrator
    • View Profile