Author Topic: cattle  (Read 4580 times)

which way

• View Profile
cattle
« on: September 02, 2015, 04:15:40 PM »
I am relatively new to walking as a hobby, but that does not mean I have not been on walks in the past.
I seem to remember, say ten years ago,  on lowland walks through fields full of cattle. The cattle almost always seemed to have a passive look about their faces, and at the very most saunter over to you to investigate.
Of late however, on more than one occasion in different places,  the cattle seem to look at you with intent and support that look by galloping towards you,  still with intent on their faces.
I do not consider myself a wimp, but I must admit, whilst judging the look on their faces and realising their momentum,  again on more than one occasion,  found myself scrambling over a fence,  for what I believed to be my own safety.
Anyone had similar experiences?
W W

Lost Soul

• View Profile
Re: cattle
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2015, 05:24:11 PM »
Hi WW

For starters have a look at this thread.

http://micronavigation.com/forum/index.php?topic=695.0

You might like to do a search of the Forum for cattle.  If I recall correctly the subject has cropped on more than one occasion.

LS

ianj37

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2015, 02:34:03 PM »
I've never been attacked or even had any cows come towards me but due to what I've read I must say that I get a little nervous just going through a field with cattle in.
Despite the advice it's not always possible to give them a wide berth so unless they're on the path I just follow it and am prepared to make a run for it (this is very much mind over the facts of aging, I suspect they would catch me very quickly)!