Author Topic: The maps transforming how we interact with the world  (Read 5233 times)

Lyle Brotherton

• Administrator
  • Competent and safe navigation sets you free.
    • View Profile
The maps transforming how we interact with the world
« on: September 13, 2013, 12:47:34 PM »
Interesting item from the Beeb

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-24067745
“Opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance” - Plato

captain paranoia

• View Profile
Re: The maps transforming how we interact with the world
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 01:40:37 PM »
What we really want* is 3d augmented reality mapping goggles that present the terrain and route directly into your vision, aligned with your natural vision...  Something I've been suggesting since 1997...

* or do we...?  'follow the yellow brick road' is only good if the brick road is correct...  Garbage in, garbage out...

Given accurate 3D data, and details of the surface vegetation, etc, we could design a system to guide us through the landscape, based on any number of optimisation selections; time, energy, pretty views, etc.

captain paranoia

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2013, 01:49:23 PM »
The 'what three words' sounds a nice was of specifying the location of a given point, but, unless you know the word sequences used to define the scheme, not so good for specifying the point next to it...

I guess it could just be a big lookup table; it's just data storage, and that's cheap these days.  Essentially, a bigger version of the OS alpha prefix for grid references, but each square is 3m rather than 100km, and there are lots more letters...

Paul Hitchen

• View Profile
    • Jonty's Cottage
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2013, 02:02:36 PM »