Author Topic: Greetings from Holland  (Read 1969 times)

Skills4Survival

• Know the concepts !
    • View Profile
Greetings from Holland
« on: December 29, 2011, 01:28:52 AM »
Hi, my name is Ivo and just enrolled in the forum after receiving Lyle's book in the mail. In my daily job I manage IT projects at Philips Netherlands and besides that I have a teaching degree in geography. My main hobby is hiking, wilderness survival, bushcraft. I also have a one-man bussiness (for fun) in which I teach basic navigation courses of which I did one so far :-) which gave me the feedback I needed to further tweak it. I am currently busy designing the advanced course which is nearly finished. I have loads of books on navigation and this seems to be the most comprehensive one, with a focus on "need to know" topics and very nice, clear illustrations. I used the teaching approach from NNAS as a guide for my course setup but am beginning to change it here and there. So far I used the W. Linke manual as my main referrence, also because it has exercises in it I can use for the course. My course is plit in a theoretical part in a classroom setting and a practical part in which we apply all theory. All done from a small town in The Netherlands. What I have seen so far the book explains a lot of must know terminology short and sweet. For me, it took some time to get the know all the terminology in English and now...I know it better than in Dutch. I have the english version, not the Dutch version.

Long story...but I wanted to get past the point of saying, Hi..I am Ivo and I bought your book :-)

Ivo

Egg

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Greetings from Holland
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 09:14:26 AM »
Hi Ivo...
Welcome to the forum.
We will be looking forward to you sharing your knowledge and experiences with us.
Cheers
Bob
Everyday's a school day...

Lyle Brotherton

• Administrator
  • Competent and safe navigation sets you free.
    • View Profile