Author Topic: Teaching Methods  (Read 1771 times)

Michelle

• View Profile
Teaching Methods
« on: October 25, 2011, 08:57:43 PM »
I once had a job teaching taster activity sessions to complete novices. One such subject was orienteering. The typical age group was 5-8 years. I thought I'd share one of the very basic methods I used for this age group and would be interested to hear how others have found simple ways to share knowledge.

Before venturing into the outdoors, we started with a short classroom session (5 years olds have little more than a 10 minute concentration span).

Step 1 - Armed with a huge sheet of paper and a selection of marker pens, I would draw the outline of the room then invite each of the group to draw an item seen in the room onto the plan. For the slightly older, we would introduce symbols and the legend. Typical items would be a fire extinguisher, chair or table. When everyone had added an item we'd move on to step 2

Step 2 - Place the newly drawn plan on the floor (I had an open barn), correctly orientated. I would then point to an item and ask the group to go stand next to it. This would have a high success rate. Next, rotate the page and repeat. Some would follow others, a couple would be right, most wouldn't. Very quickly the youngsters would understand the importance of orientating the map.

Step 3 - Go outside and watch them get lost  :) I recommend setting clear boundaries at this point.

pugrantg

• View Profile
Re: Teaching Methods
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 10:24:11 PM »
Using the compass as a protractor to take a bearing from a map was something that was not made clear to me when learning navigation as a youngster. I was always distracted by the compass needle.

Now that I'm in a position of teaching it I've successfully used the tool shown in the link to explain the simple concept that eluded me. i.e it's just an angle measured from North.

http://www.dooyoo.de/outdoor-zubehoer/silva-kartenwinkelmesser/